Empowering Communities, Celebrating Minnesota Locally

Commission on Judicial Selection Opens Application Process for Vacancies in the Tenth Judicial District

[ST. PAUL, MN] – Today, the Commission on Judicial Selection announced four vacancies in Minnesota’s Tenth Judicial District. The vacancies will occur upon the retirement of the Honorable James A. Cunningham, the Honorable Jonathan N. Jasper, the Honorable Kristin C. Larson, and the Honorable Nancy J. Logering. Three seats will be chambered in Anoka in Anoka County, and one will be chambered in Elk River in Sherburne County.  

The application process is now open for these vacancies. The commission is searching for fair, experienced, and civic-minded individuals to serve on the bench and offer their talents and services to Minnesota’s judicial system. Per statute, the commission will consider the following qualifications for judicial office: integrity, maturity, health (if job related), judicial temperament, legal knowledge, ability, experience, and community service. The commission is seeking applicants who reflect Minnesota’s full diversity.  

Individuals wishing to apply may request an application by contacting the Office of the Governor and Lt. Governor via e-mail at Judicial.Selection@state.mn.us. Application materials are due by 4:00 pm on July 31 and should be addressed to the chair of the commission, Erin Sindberg Porter. The commission expects to hold interviews in late August.