Empowering Communities, Celebrating Minnesota Locally

Minnesota PWHL wins Championship

(Lowell, MA) — Team Minnesota has won the first-ever Professional Women’s Hockey League championship with a 3-0 Game Five win over Boston last night in Lowell, Massachusetts. Minnesota forward Liz Schepers scored the game’s first goal in the second period, giving Minnesota goalie Nicole Hensley all the offense she would need. Former Minnesota-Duluth star Michela Cava added an insurance tally in the third period to give Minnesota a 2-0 advantage. Long-time women’s hockey star Kendall Coyne Schofield pushed across a late empty net goal to ice the game. There are 12 Minnesota natives on the Team Minnesota roster, include former Gopher star Taylor Heise of Lake City, who was named the playoffs Most Valuable Player. Minnesota receives the Walter Cup for winning the league title. Here are the results of the best-of-five Walter Cup Finals: Game One: Boston 4, Minnesota 3 (final-BOS leads series 1-0) Game Two: Minnesota 3, Boston 0 (final, series tied 1-1) Game Three: Minnesota 4, Boston 1 (final, MN leads series 2-1) Game Four: Boston 1, Minnesota 0 (final, 2OT, series tied 2-2) Game Five Minnesota 3, Boston 0 (final, MN wins series 3-2)

(Photo Credit @PWHL_Minnesota)