Empowering Communities, Celebrating Minnesota Locally

More No Wake Zones Issued on Meeker Co Lakes

Meeker County Sheriff Brian Cruze has ordered no wake zones within 500 feet of shore on several lakes in Meeker County due to the rising waters.

Those lakes are Washington, Stella, Manuella, Minnie-Belle, Erie and Big Swan.

The order is in effect for the next 30 days.

“Slow-No Wake” means operation of a watercraft at the slowest possible speed necessary to maintain steerage and in no case greater than five mph.

A no wake order was previously issued for Lake Arvilla and remains in effect.

Other lakes in the area are being monitored.

Sheriff Cruze reminds boaters that with high water on area lakes to be cautious of debris and to remember the effects of wakes to property on the lake.